If I Were A Man…

I have to say, I don’t watch much TV because there’s not much worth watching there, but every now and then when I do, I sometimes find there’s one great commercial that grabs you. Whether it makes you laugh out loud, literally, puts a tear in your eye or just pulls at your heart strings. This holiday, I adore the one with the kids that believe they see Santa Claus. This man, playing that part, truly IS the perfect choice! He really is a fabulous portrayal. There’s a young boy at the grocery store that thinks he sees Santa and offers him a cookie, in awe, and his mother takes his hand, apologizes to the man, pulling her son down the aisle. A boy not sharing with his sister, sees him, and immediately hands the object to her when “Santa” looks at him. The kids on a school bus that see him on the sidewalk, crowd near the window. He is fully aware that the kids believe him to be Santa Claus and he embraces it. As that mother walks down the aisle with her son, telling him that’s not Santa, he looks back over his shoulder at him. The man winks at the little boy, smiles and puts his finger to his lips. The little boy is to keep the secret. The boy smiles, walking away, keeping his eyes on “Santa” and you can see the joy in his face.

I think if I were a man, this is what I would want to look like. Yes, believe it or not, I would not want to be a gorgeous stud with a 6-pack. I would choose to look like Santa because of the impact a man like that could make in a child’s life, any time of the year, during any season. Can you imagine the “power” you would have? Can you imagine being able to warm the heart of a little, innocent person and restore joy and hope? I remember one day, while driving a school bus, a deer ran across the road in front of me. I stopped and looked at all the young kids aboard and asked “Did you see that? They’re here, watching! I told you so!” and they all immediately got quiet and looked at each other. After all, when we are given those “golden opportunities”, we truly need to take advantage of them and that moment was awesome.

I absolutely adored being “Santa Claus” when my kids were young. I had a stash of wrapping paper, a gold pen and special tags tucked way back in the corner of my attic. I didn’t know, until years later when they confessed to me, that they had taken sample cuttings of my wraps and would compare them, in the early morning on Christmas, to see if they matched. Of course, they didn’t. Once, I even took a large pair of boots, dipped them in the ashes of my fireplace and left footprints around the tree. When The Santa Clause movie with Tim Allen came out, I watched it with my kids. I think they were wondering why I was more excited about seeing it than they were. With popcorn in hand, I would yell out “Wow, I always wondered how he did that!” when he went down a chimney or entered a residence that didn’t have a fireplace. My kids saw my responses to those things I told them I had always wondered about as a little girl, while watching with so much excitement. My reactions throughout that entire movie, I believed, just helped solidify their belief. I loved every moment of it and will never forget those times.

So, if I were a man, Santa Claus is just who I’d want to be, for all the children who believe, or wonder if they should. Whenever a child asked me if I believe in Santa, I would always tell them that Santa Claus is alive and well and living in the hearts of everyone who believes in him. I would embrace that role every day of the year. I would truly need a sleigh that could take me to every hospital for children, every shelter, and every corner of the world where children are in need and let the “magic” of Santa Claus create simple miracles in their lives, letting them know others really do care about them. I would love nothing more than to restore the hope and wonder to every little set of eyes that looked at me and wondered if I were truly the big guy himself. I would spend the rest of my life removing any doubt in their minds that miracles do exist and people do care about each and every one of them.

I believe in Santa although, I still wonder why he hasn’t brought Batman down the chimney for me. Guess it’s because of his “thing” about small, dark spaces. I’m not really sure, but am I asking for too much when I ask for just one night in the cave with that man, really? I’m still a believer, in Santa, and I still love Batman. So for me, I’m going to continue to be a good girl, I’m going to keep wishing that one day, I will see the man I adore so much waiting for me near my tree, on Christmas morning.

Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings and, my personal favorite…MERRY CHRISTMAS to all!

 

6 thoughts on “If I Were A Man…

  1. Donna! I just absolutely love you & your positivity! I’m so glad you’re one of my only friends. If I were a man.. I would want to look just like Batman so I could give you your childhood wish! ❤
    FYI… what a great idea with the boots in the ashs of the fireplace. You are so creative!!
    It also sounds like you were the coolest bus driver ever!! I love your stories & blogs so much. Keep up the good work. Xoxoxo

    Like

  2. Awww…thank you. You know how much I love you, my friend! 💜 I used to have to remove kids from my bus, too many wanted to ride with me. I loved that job, second to being a Mother! Love you more, Nicki, see you soon! Thank you, again, for your support!

    Like

  3. This is beautiful, mom. Those were magical moments that I will never forget! Thanks to YOU, I sure did believe whole heartedly till much, much later than most. You created and maintained an environment which allowed my imagination to run wild, with unconditional love and support every step along the way. I couldn’t be more grateful for you and all you have instilled in me. I love you more 💚

    Like

    1. Sweetheart, your words fill my heart with joy & put a tear in my eye. I am so very blessed to be a mother & can’t think of anything more wonderful than a child’s gratitude, expressed so beautifully, to make every day, every sacrifice, every effort so worthwhile. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart! 💘 ~x0x~ 💘

      Like

Leave a Reply

